Apple Pie

Our neighbors across the road are having their annual BBQ.  Unfortunately, Lel and I had already made plans prior to being invited.  However, since this is the first year that we have been invited (and as a gesture of good neighborliness)  we thought we should at least contribute a dish of some kind.  My fruit bowl just happened to be full of beautiful organic apples, so I figured Apple Pie would be an easy and tasty treat to contribute.

I made this pie with what happened to be in our pantry at the time so it differs a bit from how I would traditionally make apple pie filling, but it was just as tasty and actually contains less sugar.

  • Apple Pie Recipe:

  • 6 to 8 Apples (I just happened to have some organic gala apples I think, but usually I will mix in some granny smith as well)
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 orange
  • Roughly 1/2 Cup of White Sugar
  • 3 Tbls Honey
  • 2 Tbls Maple Syrup
  • Ginger
  • Cinamon
  • Pie Crust

Wash, peel, and slice the apples into wedges.

Squeeze some lemons. I used the juice from two lemons, but they were very small lemons-so the juice from one large one would do (roughly 1 to 2 Tbls).  Add the juice from half an orange.

Add the lemon and orange juice to the bowl of apples.  Toss the apples to evenly coat them with the juice.  Now  add the sugar and spice.

My spice rack!

I tend to eye ball things, but I would say that I add roughly a 1/2 tsp of ground Cinnamon and a 1/4 tsp of ground Ginger.  Sprinkle the spices around on top of the apples.  Now you will also want to add the sugar, honey, and maple syrup to the bowl of apples.  Mix the whole thing up and let the apples sit as you prep the pie pan.

  • Pie Crust Recipe:

  • 2 1/2 Cups Organic All Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2 Sticks of Butter (cold)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Tbls White Vinegar
  • 2-3 Tbls Ice Cold Water

In a large mixing bowl, measure out the flour and salt.  Mix the flour and the salt together.  In a small bowl, whisk together 1 egg and 1 Tbls of white vinegar.  In another small bowl, add some ice and about a cup of water.  Now remove the sticks of butter from the fridge, cut them (the sticks of butter} into chunks and add it to the flour.

With a pastry cutter, cut the butter into the flour.

It will look something like this when you are finished.  Now add the egg and vinegar mixture.  Mix this together a little, then start adding a 1 Tbls of water at a time until the dough comes together.  When the dough is starting to stick together, knead it into a ball or disk.

Wrap the dough disks in plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 30-45 min.
When the dough is chilled roll it out on a lightly floured surface.

Pinch the edges up.

Now add the apples to fill the pie crust.  I have become very fond of using cookie cutters to cut shapes to make the tops of fruit pies.  It is quick and easy and looks great. Everyone loves it and doesn’t have to know that I find that it is easier than actually rolling out a flat pie top:)  I have stars on hand.

The stars are shiny, because after I finished it off, I brushed a little egg wash on.  Pop this baby in the oven for about 35-40 minutes or until toasty light brown on the crust and bubbly on the inside.

We dropped the pie off.  I guess it was a hit, because the neighbors even felt the need to drop by personally and thank us 🙂

Leave a Reply

